Author Topic: Parking on pavements  (Read 7146 times)

simondjuk

• View Profile
Parking on pavements
« on: February 17, 2015, 12:59:12 PM »
Ive put this in Rants because its one of those things that really annoys me.

So does anyone agree with me that parking on any pavement should be banned? 

In Sheffield, there are 2 specific areas where this happens that I know of  and I dont think it should be allowed to carry on.  Both these places are in front of shops and both places the cars parked are people who run/work in the shop.  I know this to be accurate as ive seen them first hand.

Admittedly one of these places doesnt block the pavement as its quite wide but pavements are for pedestrians, not cars!

I did Tweet South Yorkshire Police to ask advice and they told me to call 101 to report it but I dont want to be wasting their time with something like this.

Should I report it?
Im a bomb technician.  If you see me running, try and keep up

therealjr

• View Profile
Re: Parking on pavements
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 06:11:38 PM »
If it's going to annoy you that much Simon yes. I once got wound up by someone parking a flash car in a residents only car parking area by claiming he was living above his business premises. I was an auditor for the council at the time so in a 'cough' official capacity I checked the council tax records. No tax being paid. So the letter went out giving him the choice. Pay the council tax or lose the parking permit. He moved his car!!!!
I'm not an Alcoholic. They go to meetings
I'm a drunk I go to the pub

Fly

• Administrator
  • ' 2E0IFY '
    • View Profile
    • Taximania
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2015, 06:24:18 PM »
As said on FB by various people simon, it's not illegal unless you park on a drop kerb, blocking a driveway etc.
I checked up on it with all the fallouts on our street over parking. Thankfully, 'we' are sorted now. Costly though.