Author Topic: Do our banks like customers?  (Read 1639 times)

smithy266

• View Profile
Do our banks like customers?
« on: August 17, 2021, 09:21:00 AM »
I think they don't give a hoot....yesterday, I called in to HSBC in the Market Square, to find only 1 cashier  window open....and after 27th August, there will be NO customer service desks....banking will be all by machine.....
Some of us still need cashiers. Fair enough, there are those staff milling around helping you press the machine buttons, but it just ain't the same....

Sorastro

• View Profile
Re: Do our banks like customers?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2021, 12:51:39 PM »
I know what you mean, I've been banking with Yorkshire Bank for over 50 years and in all those years I think the thousands of times I've walked into the bank and been served quickly and gone I could count on the fingers of one hand.
I remember once many moons ago {when they were on New Square} I walked in to be met with well over a dozen people before me and just 3 windows of 6 open. One of the girls on one window after serving a customer put the "closed" sign up locked her till and went off into the back and never re appeared leaving 2, by this time another 6 customers had walked in behind me, that left just 2 windows. The customer being served at the first window made some sort of query on her account or something and the girl serving her said she would check and she went into the back which left one till open. This meant one customer being served about every 4 or 5 minutes and the mutterings started, at least 4 customers left the queue and walked out. The 1st girl came back after about ten minutes and after another ten minutes finally got rid of that customer and started serving others.